Kicking It At Kirstenbosch

I’ll be the first to admit that I am a summer baby through and through. I love being able to spend time outdoors with friends and family. Being able to wear sandals, only one layer of clothing and not having to dry my hair before leaving the house are all things that appeal to me in a big way.

That said, I understand that we need all seasons, and what they have to bring, no matter how cold or wet that may be. Thus I embrace each of them. Some of my favourite winter perks are, ┬áhands down, the slow-cooked meals, cuddles under the blankets and glasses of red wine being enjoyed while reading a good book. These are all great, but the best is when you get a surprise summery-winter’s day. Especially in Cape Town, where, no matter the season, there is something beautiful to explore…

We were recently blessed with such a day and Granville and I took full advantage of it by heading out to the Kirstenbosch National Botanical Garden where they had a new tree-top canopy bridge/walk called the “Boomslang” that we were eager to check out. Although nippy (I only needed three tops and a scarf) we had a blast enjoying the walk through the garden, taking photographs, enjoying the views and the amazing splendor that is winter in Cape Town.

DSC03525

A sculpture of former president Nelson Mandela near the Garden’s entrance.

DSC03526

DSC03530

DSC03536

DSC03551

DSC03552

DSC03554

DSC03566

DSC03568

The “Boomslang” at Kirstenbosch

DSC03576.1

DSC03574

DSC03591

DSC03596

DSC03609

DSC03618

 

Leave a Reply

